Why are you doing this?

I was recently asked why I am doing all of this? I sense that some are concerned that I am standing on a soap box preaching repentance. Some may get the idea that I hold myself above others because of what I have learned about studying the scriptures. Once I was told that the questions I ask are the same sort of questions that apostate members ask just before they up and leave the church. Perhaps some of you have had personal experience with my new found understanding and have witnessed me talk with unbridled passion about it. Several times I have been reprimanded by people I hold close for pressing ideas people may not be ready for. So you too might wonder what my objective is for writing this blog.

I am writing this blog to point anyone who desires to know and understand and trust in God (faith) to the words of Christ. There are thousands of resources in the world that offer solutions to problems and circumstances. However, there is only one source that solves all problems, and that is the words of Christ. No matter what level you are on, what your academic standing is, what your past drags with you, the words of Christ is the only source for real solutions that last forever.

I have been accused of pointing to scriptures that are too much for some to understand. My response to them is, “it is not my job to teach the words of Christ. That is the responsibility of the Holy Ghost.” As they desire to know the mind and will of God for them to align and receive, then they will have His spirit to be with them. That spirit of God will rest upon them and they can know, by revelations, miracles, and angels that the words of Christ are true and for them.

2 Nephi 32:3

“3. Angels speak by the power of the Holy Ghost; wherefore, they speak the words of Christ. Wherefore, I said unto you, Feast upon the words of Christ; for behold, the words of Christ will tell you all things what ye should do.”

My failures in the past are typical for someone whose eyes were opened for the first time. Like a baby learning to walk, I earned some major bumps and bruises as I stumbled with my first few steps. When I learned of the value of the Book of Mormon, I wanted to shout it from the roof tops. I knew that I didn’t know all. But what I did learn was so exciting and freeing to me that I struggled to contain myself. I found myself talking for hours to sleepy eyed audiences. When my audience was obviously exhausted from information overload, I moved on to the next willing audience. My poor wife, when no one else had the time, had to take one for the team and listen to me for what must have seemed as days.

Continuing with the analogy of a baby learning to walk, I learned to be a bit more efficient when conversing. Before approaching my next victim, I thought the idea through more thoroughly, condensed it into three to four points, before conversing and celebrating the principles that I had discovered. The results were a little less overloading, but still too much for some. So rather than fold altogether and give up talking about the things I love to those whom I love, I decided to write a blog. That way I can condense what I learned, put it up on the blog, and those who want to can read it, and those who don’t want to don’t have to be polite and stick toothpicks in their eyes to keep them open while I rant for hours. It is less invasive, or manipulative, and extends a constant invitation to those who find these things important. Agency is respected in all.

I have learned thorough bad experience that agency is the right everyone has to chose what is attractive and what isn’t. That isn’t my place to judge. But for those who seek, hunger and thirst to know God, I share the same feeling. That is why I am doing this. The first step for all to return to God is to seek to understand, to know and to trust in God. This can only happen by the searching for God in the words of Christ. It is only through the words of Christ that we can obtain a personal witness of  the Son and the Father. No man comes unto the Father, but by Christ. No man comes to Christ, but by the following of His instructions and the receiving of the Holy Ghost.

I hope that it is clear now my true intentions for writing this blog.

