Beatitude 05 out of 07 (Mercy)

So far we have discussed the first three beatitudes and tied it to the pride-cycle.

  1. The first step is to be poor of heart so that we can obtain a promise.
  2. The second is to mourn to God. We talked about this as sincerely seeking to understand and be given knowledge concerning current concerns, which provides us comfort.
  3. Comfort transitions into trusting God in all things, which I defined as being meek. Trust in God is not motivated by problems any longer, but based on the understanding of certain laws. Here- you know that every blessing is predicated upon a law. The meek search for the law, apply it and wait patiently for the law to produce its results. Naturally, the results include inheriting things of worth in this world, what the scriptures call inheriting the earth.

Inheriting the Earth has a negative effect on people because their hearts are set on the world. Many are called, but few are chosen… because their hearts are set so much upon the things of this world and aspire to the honors of men… (D&C 121:35). This is the point of the falling away. We aspire to men, not to Christ. We cannot continue our ascent. The only way to continue our ascent is by hungering and thirsting after righteousness. Righteousness and Christ are synonymous and interchangeable. But aspiring to Christ while in the flesh is considered taboo.

The topic of calling and election made sure, coming into the presence of Christ while in the flesh, and the church of the Firstborn are all topics that cause fear in latter day saints because of our ignorance. Instead of embracing our ignorance and seeking for further light and knowledge (as we are taught to do), we simply consider such topics as speculation or only privileged to those in higher callings/offices. Yet, that is the very topic that we are being promised in the fourth beatitude that will produce sanctification by the Holy Ghost and will break us free of the pride cycle that chains us to hell.

Alma 12:11

“11. And they that will harden their hearts, to them is given the lesser portion of the word until they know nothing concerning his mysteries; and then they are taken captive by the devil, and led by his will down to destruction. Now this is what is meant by the chains of hell.

Once we can break free of the false traditions of our fathers, we can begin to hunger and thirst after righteousness and then be filled with the Holy Ghost, thus being able to ascend breaking ourselves free from the pride cycle that keeps us in ignorance.

Side Note: The earths orbit around the sun is a reminder of this pride-cycle:

  • Winter solstice (Dec 21) is the day of gaining greater light, which is symbolic of being poor in spirit ready to receive more and more light.
  • Spring equinox (Apr 21) is the day of equal light, it is the day that light begins to overpower the darkness. Those that mourn are comforted and begin to find confidence in trusting in God.
  • Summer solstice (Jun 21) is the longest day or the most light. This points to the meek inheriting the earth. But soon the darkness returns and the days become shorter and shorter.
  • The Fall equinox (Sep 21) is a day of equal light, but the dark now is greater than the light as we fall away.
  • Finally the Winter equinox is the point of greatest darkness and light begins to break through once again. The people are humbled and become poor in spirit once more.

The message of the translation of the city of Enoch is about breaking free from the pride-cycle of the earth by ascending out of this earth (which is continually in a pride-cycle). The point at which this earth is prophesied to be consumed by fire is the point at which the earth exits the pride-cycle orbit, to enter into a place of constant light/burnings. This is what I am saying that the beatitudes are trying to teach us. They are trying to teach us that we also need to make an ascent.

The fifth beatitude is a coded like the fourth. Lets look at it:

3 Nephi 12:7

And blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.”

Just as righteousness is synonymous with Christ, so is mercy synonymous with Christ. In the previous beatitude we hunger and thirst after Christ and are filled with the Holy Ghost (a necessary preparation for entering into the presence of Christ.) In this one, the merciful actually “obtain” Christ. Christ is the only one who can give mercy. No one has the power to give mercy, but Him. To obtain mercy is to ascend into His presence and physically handle Him as did the apostles after the resurrection and the Nephites in the land of bountiful. It is in the land of bountiful, in the presence of the resurrected Savior, that we receive the beatitudes that we are quoting here.

Again, this is a very touchy subject. But if it’s such a touchy subject how are we to ascend? The problem is that it shouldn’t be a touchy subject. The scriptures are crawling with examples pointing us to making an ascension and helping others ascend, not just in the Book of Mormon, D&C and Pearl of Great Price, but in the Bible as well. The book of Revelations are more about instructions on making an ascent than it is of perilous times. Also the Book of John and the signs that he mentions are limited to seven signs performed by Christ, yet Christ performed much more than just seven. If John the beloved was with Christ through the entire atonement and resurrection, why only seven signs? Because the seven that John chose to reveal are meant to point us to an ascent as well.

We only break through the pride cycle by hungering an thirsting after Christ, being filed with the Holy Ghost and being merciful- thus we see men as Christ would see them. That is the definition of mercy. Then, one day, God promises that you can obtain Christ. You can have this blessing while in the flesh. It is not only available to those in high offices/callings or the dead. It is still available for those who seek, who knock, who ask.

We are taught to seek further light and knowledge. We are shown how we can knock on a door (a door being a veil of sorts). We are taught to ask to return into the presence of Christ. Despite our mistakes, Christ’s hand is stretched out still. He wants us to take His hand and come unto Him. Temples are meant as a place for detailed instruction. All symbols in the temple, on the temple, under the temple, and the temple itself point to making an ascension, upward and onward.

The Holy Ghost fills us and prepares us to become merciful and obtain Mercy. Christ, or Mercy, then teaches us how to be pure of heart. That’s the next beatitude, “a pure heart.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s