As a Urim and Thummim

The scriptures ought to be used as a Urim and Thummim. The Book of Mormon, D&C, and Pearl of Great Price were intended to be used as a Urim and Thummim to understand and to clarify the writings in the Bible. When we have a strong hold on Gods mind and will outlined in the those books, it becomes much easier to see through the mistranslations of the Bible. Then can the stick of Judah (the Bible) and the stick of Joseph (the Book of Mormon) be as one in our hand, for they will testify of Christ. But the big question is how? I’d like to share an instance and offer you an exercise that can possibly show you how the scriptures are intended to be a Urim and Thummim.

  1. I’ll share a topic question/guideline
  2. Then i’ll give you a few scriptures to read, to see if you can identify what God is trying to tell you concerning that topic.
  3. Then you can simply respond and tell me if you agree with the teacher, or not.
  4. Finally, you can share your reasons, based on the scriptures you’ve read.
  5. I will post all responses to see if you can see a pattern

Hypothesis: I am positive that there will be a common thread either way.

If you are married, I recommend that you do the exercise with your spouse. It can make life very frustrating when you have changed your philosophy of money, but your spouse hasn’t. However, when a couple have one heart and one mind with one another concerning their finances, that can propel and preserve a relationship into the eternities.

Let me explain the topic and then let yo get to the experiment. This past Sunday, I was so impressed with our Sunday school lesson. The teacher suffered through the entire hour as the members rejected him. During the lesson, we weren’t even able to get past the third scripture passage before the members shattered to pieces like glass. At the end of class, I literally grabbed my teacher and told him that I needed to know what he was talking about. I told him that I recognized the resistance the class gave him, and said that I don’t feel the same. I requested the list of Scriptures that he wasn’t able to cover. He was so excited that someone might have understood what he was getting at, that he took the time to read them over with me. As he and I went over each scripture, the mind and will of God was clear to me about what the Lord thinks about the proper and improper use of wealth (this is the topic). He didn’t say much. He just told me what to read next, and then I came to my own conclusion. In the end, I found myself agreeing with what he was sharing in class.

All we did was read each scripture. I’ll let you experiment by doing the same. The thing that caught my attention was the context that the teacher presented before the class that made everyone fly to pieces. See if you too can either see it the way he saw it, or if you will disagree.

The teachers perspective: The teacher stated that the whole purpose that God gives man wealth or poverty is to see how well the wealthy will spend all of their excess in feeding the hungry and clothing the naked, by lifting them out of bondage so that there is no poor among them. The poor must depend on God and not judge the rich. When the Lord said to lay not up in store treasures on earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, the Lord opposes accumulating (hoarding) savings and banking accounts and the concerns for individual security in this life. Instead, the Lord seeks for you to use your wealth for things in which moth and rust doth not corrupt, nor thieves break through and take away. We are to use our excess to progress people. People are the things which moth and rust doth not corrupt, nor thieves break through and take away.

That was as far as he was able to speak before the members rejected his words and quoted prophets, etc. concerning using our money wisely, getting an education, food storage, budgeting, and building a savings account for the future, or a rainy day. I felt the same traditions within myself exclaiming that I have always been taught to manage my money properly, or be a good steward.

Joseph Smith said that every time he taught a new doctrine, the saints would fly to pieces like glass if that doctrine went against their traditions. I can understand that. This money theory is obviously not aligned with our successful modern business mentality, modern accounting principles, or capitalism mentality. In Utah Judges and Attorneys tell clients who have gone through bankruptcy that even Joseph Smith was in the process of bankruptcy before he died, to make them feel better about themselves. Which brings you to a jumping point question. What was Joseph Smith trying to do with the early saints? What is God’s intention regarding wealth by revealing to us these passages of scripture?

Here is the list of scripture passages that the teacher shared. Read them and tell me what the common thread is to you. I’m interested to know your opinions. I will post all comments as they come in, so all of you can see. Here it is:

  1. 3 Nephi 13:19-24 (This was the part written to the general body of the saints)
  2. Jacob 2:17
  3. D&C 49:20
  4. Matt 13:22
  5. 1 Tim 6:9-11
  6. Mormon 8:35
  7. 2 Nephi 28:13
  8. Matt 19:23-26
  9. Mosiah 4:16
  10. Alma 30:17
  11. 1 Sam 2:7
  12. Mark 10:23-27 (This one, be sure to read the JST on v. 27a)
  13. D&C 78:6
  14. Moses 7:18
  15. 4 Nephi 1:3
  16. D&C 70:14
  17. Jacob 2:19
  18. D&C 58:27-28
  19. D&C 19:35
  20. Alma 37:13
  21. Deuteronomy 15:7-15

My wife and I went through them, and now we are convinced that our ways have been in the likeness of the world and far from the mind and will of God. What say you?

2 thoughts on “As a Urim and Thummim

  1. I’ve been meaning to get back to you on this. I enjoyed reading these scripture passages and learning more of what God wants us to do. I also believe that at times we have a worldly perspective and our desires seem more selfish than Godly. Personally, I am grateful for the opportunity to pay tithing and fast offerings. We have been a witness of the pouring out of blessings. The gospel is a wonderful thing. I am grateful for all these eternal truths in our lives!

    • The heavenly perspective is not only a little different than the earthly idea, it’s a significant shift, and, in this case, a painful one.
      I have noticed that when I really don’t want to change something, I tend to justify the reasons why my way is acceptable, rather than redefining myself by the instructions from the heavens. When we follow laws of traditions, without an understanding of the deeply rooted purposes, we use our ignorance of the scriptures to justify our choices. That way we can say, “I’m doing the best I know how.” That might be true, but the guilt of our fraud is unveiled in our failure to know the mind and will of God concerning the matter because we don’t know the word of God. So while we may slide from accountability in our minds, by blindly obeying the traditional line of law, we can never escape the condemnation given to the whole church for not reading and seeking an understanding of the word, sufficient to produce fruits (D&C 84:50-58).
      As I reread my reply to your comment, it sounds really critical, blunt, unforgiving, and somewhat of a slam. I want to assure you, that is not the intent whatsoever. I feel like I have been there with a different principle that I struggled with. In the end I told my friend, “I know that you’re right, but that doesn’t mean that I’m going to obey.” That’s all I care about. I don’t much really want to talk about what we are doing wrong or not aligning with. All I am interested in is talking of the truth. If we can have a constant stream of truth, void of accusation, then no emphasis is placed on personal accusations. All the emphasis is placed on identifying truth. Then, if we suffer from that sin, we know a way to escape it. If you don’t want that escape route right now, that’s your choice, and nobody has the right to accuse you, but God (but even God waits for us to obey).
      Thank you for being open to a conversation.

Leave a Reply

