Standards of Measurement

What is your standard of measurement? Measurements are only as valuable as the standard by which we measure. We can either use the standard of the heavens, or we can use the standard of the earth. Your standard will determine which master you have chosen to serve.

Christ’s definition of intelligence is different than the world’s. The scriptures teach that the glory of God is intelligence, or in other words light and truth. It teaches that light and truth forsaketh the evil one, …and that Satan seeks to take away light and truth, using the traditions of men. When you are filled with light and truth, you are like God and are unwavering.

So, if Christ is my standard, and I profess that He is, than I am far from that standard in my variableness, and must repent. This afternoon I was blindsided in a conversation. I contended, when I should have been silent. In the aftermath, I immediately recognized how varying I am, and how easily I am drawn into certain contentious circumstances. And for this reason, I am embarrassed at my variableness, and seek to repent and re-align with Christ. If I am successful in this alignment, then I will have the ability to stand firm, and not vary. Until I have aligned, I have a low-degree of intelligence.

According to the world, however, I can claim a high-degree of intelligence. The world defines intelligence as: The ability to acquire and apply knowledge and skills. That means any knowledge, and any skills. I have a strong capacity to acquire and apply random knowledge and skills. So according to the intelligence quotient (IQ) test, I have a high-degree of intelligence. But this definition does not promise salvation. It only offers the glory of this earth. That is a relative intelligence. And it has no power.

The Lord addresses the problem of a relative and worldly standard in Helaman chapter 13:

Helaman 13:23-27

“23. For this cause hath the Lord God caused that a curse should come upon the land, and also upon your riches, and this because of your iniquities.

24. Yea, wo unto this people, because of this time which has arrived, that ye do cast out the prophets, and do mock them, and cast stones at them, and do slay them, and do all manner of iniquity unto them, even as they did of old time.

25. And now when ye talk, ye say: If our days had been in the days of our fathers of old, we would not have slain the prophets; we would not have stoned them, and cast them out.

26. Behold ye are worse than they; for as the Lord liveth, if a prophet come among you and declareth unto you the word of the Lord, which testifieth of your sins and iniquities, ye are angry with him, and cast him out and seek all manner of ways to destroy him; yea, you will say that he is a false prophet, and that he is a sinner, and of the devil, because he testifieth that your deeds are evil.

27. But behold, if a man shall come among you and shall say: Do this, and there is no iniquity; do that and ye shall not suffer; yea, he will say: Walk after the pride of your own eyes, and do whatsoever your heart desireth- and if a man shall come among you and say this, ye will receive him, and say that he is a prophet.

This passage shows that men choose who they call a prophet. They call men prophets who convince others that we are just fine as we are, and that there is nothing wrong with the way we are, because that is the level we are on. When our leaders look like us, we receive them with welcome. All is well in Zion is their mantra. The tendency for the natural man is to avoid the words of Christ, and receive with open arms prophets who speak smoothly, are charismatic, and fun to hear.

No man can serve two masters. Either he will love the one, and hate the other; or he will cleave to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and mammon. I am regretful to have been misaligned with my master, and grieve His disapproval of my recent actions of variableness. But I find confidence to know some of the words of the master in whom I trust. As unworthy as I am, I know that Christ is my master, because it is His words that I will seek to follow, not in the smooth words of the arm of flesh. This is not a comfortable position to be in, while in the flesh. But it offers the greatest of blessings in the treasures of heaven. Those treasures cannot be corrupted, or stolen.

Conclusion: You must all choose to either follow the standard of heaven, with the words of Christ, or the standard of the world. We can ignore the words of Christ, choose to define things our own way, and claim to follow the prophet in whom we choose to follow. But it will not justify you in the day of judgement. We will all be judged according to the words of Christ that was offered us. I offer here the words of Christ I have discovered. If that is appealing to you, then I seek an association with you. I desire to be sealed to my family, and it is only through the words of Christ that this can be possible. Feast upon the words of Christ, not only is it delicious, but it will tell you all things what ye should do (2 Nephi 32:3).

 

 

Leave a Reply

