Spiritual Ibuprofen for the Inflammation of the Heart

The physical and spiritual body are very similar when it comes to injury and inflammation. Physical injuries cause swelling and stop blood flow. Likewise, spiritual injuries (sin) cause hard heartedness and stop light flow. In both cases the solution is the same: reduce the swelling, and increase the flow. Physical healing produces long life, while spiritual healing produces eternal life.

Physical Injuries: A physical injury will cause immediate inflammation, which will stop blood flow, and slow down the healing process. Ibuprofen is often prescribed to reduce inflammation and allow blood to flow and begin healing the injury. Ice packs also help reduce swelling too. But heat to the injury attracts blood flow to the area, causing the recovery process to speed up.

Athletes who suffer from injuries typically go through the process of icing and Ibuprofen (reduce swelling), heat (increase blood flow), and rest. In a few days or weeks depending on the athletes ability to recover, they can get back into their sport and begin to rebuild to full recovery. Blood to the body is like light to the spirit.

Spiritual Injuries: While many things can cause physical injuries, sin is spiritual injury that is caused by internal darkness. Although physical injuries are cured by blood flow, the cure for sin is light-flow. Adam suffered spiritual injury when he was cast out of the garden of Eden. For this reason Adam sought messengers from heaven for more light and truth. In response, Adam was given light and truth and was able to return into the presence of Christ to be healed of his darkness.

Sin causes spiritual inflammation of the heart (your desires, not your physical heart), making the heart hard (hard heartedness). If spiritual inflammation is not addressed and reduced, by degrees your heart gets harder and harder, until you are past feeling, or numb. A hardened heart is not able to let any light through, the spirit is unable to heal, and the individual is left to suffer spiritual death, in darkness.

Spiritual Ibuprofen reduces the hard heartedness (inflammation of the heart) when the individual is continually exposed to the words of Christ.

Alma 12:10-011

“10. And therefore, he that will harden his heart, the same receiveth the lesser portion of the word; and he that will not harden his heart, to him is given the greater portion of the word, until it is given unto him to know the mysteries of God until he know them in full.

11. And they that will harden their hearts, to them is given the lesser portion of the word until they know nothing concerning his mysteries; and then they are taken captive by the devil, and led by his will down to destruction. Now this is what is meant by the chains of hell.”

Those who soften their hearts through exposure to the words of Christ (which is a source of light from the treasure box in the heavens), will get more words of Christ (more light), until they are completely filled with light. Then they will know all the mysteries of God, in full.

Remember that the word mysteries come from the Greek word “mysterion,” meaning temple rituals or ordinances. And remember, through the ordinances thereof, the power of godliness is manifest unto men in the flesh (D&C 84:19-20). Ordinances provide a conduit to receive even greater light. When we have sufficient light, we are brought back into the presence of Christ and granted eternal life.

Those who do not soften their hearts, the same receives less and less light, because the inflammation makes the heart harder and harder, allowing less and less light through. They refuse the words of Christ, until they know nothing of the words of Christ. And this Alma called, “the chains of hell.” That is spiritual death.

Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego could endure being burned in a furnace, because they removed the impurities of darkness in them, and were exposed to greater light, compared to the intensity of the earthly fire. The three Nephites could not be burned. Alma and Amulek were surrounded by a pillar of fire that could consume the flesh, but they were unharmed. When we are constantly exposed to light, the darkness will be removed, and there will be no source of sin within you. Thus, you will no more desire to do evil, but to do good continually (Mosiah 5:2).

Conclusion: Anyone can hide a spiritual limp, to cover their sins, and to pretend not to have darkness within them. But hiding the darkness within yourself will not escape the burning power of the light that comes when the heavenly hosts of angels return. Those found with darkness within themselves will burn at their coming, because they will not be able to endure the intensity of light from those that come, that will burn them.

D&C 64:24-25

“24. For after today cometh the burning- this is speaking after the manner of the Lord- for verily I say, tomorrow all the proud and they that do wickedly shall be as stubble; and I will burn them up, for I am the Lord of Hosts; and I will not spare any that remain in Babylon.”

We must begin now, while it is still called today, to be exposed, and to expose those in whom we claim to love, to the light offered in the scriptures.

D&C 45:6

“6. Hearken, O ye people of my church, and ye elders listen together, and hear my voice while it is called today, and harden not your hearts;”

We must follow the advice given to Hyrum Smith to first seek to obtain Christ’s words, then seek to declare it. Then will your tongue be loosed; then, if you desire, you shall have my Spirit and my word, yea, the power of God unto the convincing of men. (D&C 11:21). The longer the Spirit of Christ is with you is an indicator of the amount of light you are able to endure. Listen to the sacrament prayers, and you will discover that the sacrament ordinance is seeking to “Always have His Spirit to be with you.” Those who have His Spirit always, shall be filled with light, and can endure all things.

Today is our opportunity to feast upon the words of Christ. Angels speak by the power of the Holy Ghost. They speak the words of Christ. We would be wise to avoid the destruction of the darkness, by softening our hearts now, to receive the light flow being offered. If I were a spiritual doctor, the spiritual ibuprofen that I would prescribe to all who love the Lord is the words of Christ. The words of Christ will tell you all things what you should do.

 

2 thoughts on “Spiritual Ibuprofen for the Inflammation of the Heart

  1. Way to write a blog for the athletes! This blog made total sense. It’s easy to heal pain physically but spiritually takes more effort on your part. We can’t just pop a pill in and call it good. We have to do our part and read read and READ!!! I’m still struggling dad! But I PROMISE that there will be a time where you ask me how I’m doing and I can actually say I’m 100%!:) thanks for this blog. Def meant for me! Loved the Greek definition( should have said,”so there you go”) love you

    • My Son Kix,
      You have a great conscience. When I wrote this blog, I did it by way of impression. I didn’t realize that you would be the one responding. But it makes sense that an athlete could understand this concept clearly because you’re the ones working through the injuries.

      Don’t worry about reporting to me that you’re 100%. Your report to me has little to no value. To me it means a ton, but for you to report 100% to me, from God’s perspective, means nothing. You don’t answer to any flesh. Not me, not your husband, not the bishop or the prophet. It’s your relationship to God that matters. Like I said in an earlier conversation, “You are early to the game, not late!” If you’re understanding the concepts now, it means that the light is penetrating, your heart is softening, and that your reasons for studying the words of Christ is increasing. Soon, you will have sufficient light that the idea of not studying will seem dark. Then, you too will be a scripture studying freak too.

      It’s 3:00 am, and my mind has been racing, that I can’t sleep because I want more of the scriptures. To me, not thinking about the scriptures, and not reading the words of Christ seems dark. As I was a young adult, I never thought that I’d prefer reading over food or sleep. Yesterday I worked out before getting dressed to go to church. I had been up since 5 am to attend the temple on Saturday, stayed up until 1 am Saturday night, talking story about the gospel with our scripture study group. I hadn’t eaten, before I went to church. I came home to greet our new home teachers, had a small bite to eat, and then went home teaching with Tarzan. Then we both went back to our scripture study group to talk some more until 9 pm, with only one meal to eat. But the entire time, I only felt a deep desire to think upon the words of Christ. What I’m saying is, I listened to others talk about it long enough as a young adult, to identify my own reasons. It wasn’t because my mom or dad guilted me to do it. I didn’t have some kind of money incentive. I wasn’t competing with my wife. I just began to understand what God was talking about, and I desired to know more.

      You’ll see that the gospel will apply to you differently than me. What will get you interested will surprisingly be different than what may initially interest me, your mom, your friends, or your husband. No matter what gets you kick-started, eventually, it will be “the light” that keeps you seeking, and “that” is what will make you and I one heart and one mind. That is what will make our family inseparably connected with one another, and connected with the powers of heaven. Then, rather than a coveted father and daughter relationship, we will have a brother and sister relationship, because we will be equal heirs to the kingdom of God.

      So you take all the time you need to gather up the reasons you need, to power up your study into the words of Christ. If you need an athletes point of view, that works. If you need to remember the tough times, like removing insulation in the hot ceiling, on a summer day in Canada, that works too. If you take on the perspective of a new mother/parent concerned about your daughter’s eternal salvation, that has power too. All truth is circumscribed into one great whole, and it all points to Christ. From your response, I can see that you’re on your way.

      So, …there you go!

      I love you, my “SON.”
      Just kidding, my precious girl.
      Love,
      Dad

Leave a Reply

