Follow No Man!

To be a follower of Christ, we must face God, and none else. Repentance is the process of changing the direction we face, to turn and face God. Our false traditions of unbelief fool us into following after idols. The order of Melchizedek, the order of Enoch, and the order of the Only Begotten Son, is in direct opposition to the order of men. Thus, we must reject being followers of men, by seeking to know the the words of Christ, to belong to the order of the Only Begotten Son.

Repentance: In the last blog, “Repentance is a Gift,” I defined repentance as the process of changing the direction we face to turn and face God. There are diverse ways to sin, or in other words: diverse ways to face, but repentance requires that we face in one direction, towards God. The more we face God, the more we become of one heart and one mind (Zion).

False Traditions of Unbelief: Our false traditions of unbelief fool us into chasing after the image of our own god, which is in the image of the world, which is an idol (D&C 1:16). Saints get confused and don’t include themselves into this category of “worshipping idols,” …just like the children of Israel thought nothing of making a golden calf. The golden calf was a symbol of Christ, in their day. I wrote a blog called “Sacred Cows” that explained how during the time of Abraham, the sun rose through the constellation of Taurus. During that time, the proper sacrificial offering was a calf, because it symbolized the atonement of Christ (yet future). God the Father was the bull, the Mother was the cow, and the Son was the calf (look at Facsimile #2 and you’ll see the cow if you turn it upside down). So, to the children of Israel, the calf was a symbol of Christ. And the children of Israel rejected Moses’ invitation of the living Christ, …preferring the symbol of Christ instead.

The modern saint refuses to associate themselves with the false idol worshipping of the children of Israel. We see their foolishness so clearly, that we are blinded to our own. We see short hair, shirts, ties and suit coats (a man in a flannel suit) as a more acceptable representation of the symbolic Christ. Rather than receiving a message of returning into the presence of Christ, we choose to follow men of rank, hoping that they will lead us into Christ’s presence.

If the bishop, stake president, and prophets and apostles have been in Christ’s presence, then they could lead us there by sanctifying us (as Moses tried doing) and taking us up to the high mountain, so all could be prophets. But bishops and stake presidents have no desire to discuss such sanctification or ascension, and our prophets and apostles continue to teach that only one man ought to be the prophet, …opposite to Moses teaching, “…wish that all men were prophets.”

I recently changed wards. I thought that what was spoken of in confidence between a member and a bishop was confidential, but I realize that I was wrong. Upon attending my new ward, the new bishop reported to me that he spoke with my old bishop. My old bishop reported to him that we were one of his favorite couples, and to express his deep love for us. Then he proceeded to express his concern that we following after the teachings of an excommunicated man, …which was an inaccurate judgement of a conversation he and I had years prior, in absolute confidence.

The new bishop asked me what I had to say to that. I told him, “Bishop, I told my old bishop so many times that I follow no man! But he refuses to hear my words, and continues to force me into a category that I reject.” I proceeded to tell the bishop, “I follow no man. I don’t follow the bishop, not the stake president, nor do I follow the prophet! I will always listen to what they say, then I will pray to my God, and do as I am directed from Him!” The bishop responded by rephrasing what he thought I was saying. He said, “Oh, I understand. I think we are saying the same thing. You’re saying that we follow the prophet, …that leads us to Christ!” To his surprise, I responded, “No bishop. I follow no man. I look to Christ to live.” I further explained, “If I were to place any man between me and Christ, I would be making that man an Idol!” Luckily for me, this new bishop was easily intreated, he said, “Oh, …we’re good!” And that was that.

Both bishops in my experience face the same traditions of the children of Israel, of placing a tangible symbol of Christ in place of the necessity of entering into the presence of the literal Christ. In the end, we become as the gentiles of 3 Nephi 16, who reject the fulness of the gospel of Christ, which is to enter into the presence of Christ in the flesh. This is what Moses tried to offer the children of Israel, but they rejected the invitation (D&C 84:10-25). It is also what Joseph Smith offered the early saints in Nauvoo, but they too rejected it (D&C 124).

What is “the Order” We Belong to?: What is an “order?” An Order is defined as a class of people defined by the common attributes of its members, that they live by, in order to form a peaceful society. The question that we must ask ourselves is, “What order do we belong?” There are different orders. Each order is designated by the attributes they live by. In 3 Nephi 7 the people divided into tribes. There groupings were based on the values they chose to live by. People congregate by their common beliefs. Those who come to Christ, become members of the church of the Firstborn, and the following scripture describes the attributes of them:

D&C 76: 54-57

52. That by keeping the commandments they might be washedand cleansed from all their sins, and receive the Holy Spirit [Different from the Holy Ghost] by the laying on of the hands of him who is ordained and sealed unto this power;

53. And who overcome by faith, and are sealed by the Holy Spirit of promise [Different from the Holy Ghost], which the Father sheds forth upon all those who are just and true.

54. They are they who are the church of the Firstborn.

55. They are they into whose hands the Father has given all things 

56. They are they who are priests and kings, who have received of his fulness, and of his glory;

57. And are priests of the Most High, after the order of Melchizedek, which was after the order of Enoch, which was after the order of the Only Begotten Son.”

The attributes belonging to the orders of Melchizedek, Enoch and the the Only Begotten Son belong to those who are of the church of the Firstborn. We tend to convince ourselves, because of the title of the church, that this is the order to which we belong. But look closely at the attributes of this order, and then ask yourself if this is your order.

  • Do you keep the commandments?
  • Have you been washed clean of all your sins?
  • Have you received the Holy Spirit (the spirit of God the Father and Christ, not the Holy Ghost) by someone sealed unto this power?
  • Have you overcome all by faith?
  • Do you know who is the Holy Spirit of Promise? (Christ)
  • Have you been sealed up by the Holy Spirit of Promise? (Christ’s Presence in the flesh)
  • Have you been given all things by the Father?
  • Are you anointed a priest and a king? (or is your promise conditioned upon your being true and faithful in all things?)
  • Have you received of the fulness and the glory of the Father? (See the Face of God the Father)
  • Are you a priest of the Most High God?

If you answer “No” to any of the above questions, than you are “not” of that order. The order of those described above have power! There power is not conditional. Their power is not given and taken, depending upon being called into an office or being released from an office. It is not hierarchical. Those belonging to these high orders, hold all things in common. They are of one heart and one mind, and there are no poor among them. They are clean every whit, and they have had their debts forgiven, and they forgive one another’s debts as well. Those in Zion belong to this order.

The order of men is in opposition to the order of Melchizedek, Enoch, and the Only Begotten Son. When there is abundance available to us, we dig a pit for our neighbor for our advantage. We justify it by reason of economic circumstances. If we succeed, we associate our success with the order of the heavens, God’s grace smiling upon us, but the mechanisms of that success remain hidden. For this reason, the order of man, which is the world, lieth in sin!

D&C 49: 19-20

“19. For, behold, the beasts of the field and the fowls of the air, and that which cometh of the earth, is ordained for the use of man for food and for raiment, and that he might have in abundance.

20. But it is not given that one man should possess that which is above another, wherefore the world lieth in sin.”

The order to which you belong is indicated by the words in which governs your choices. If your heart is filled with the words of Christ, and they are etched at your core, then that is what you want to talk of, rejoice of, and preach of. But if you observe your talk, rejoicing, and preaching, and you find yourselves placing idols of men, to substitute Christ, then that is an indicator of the order of men. If you don’t like the order you belong to currently, you can choose now to change to face God. Choose you this day whom you will serve.

Conclusion: False traditions of unbelief have been placed within us by the sower of tares, the adversary, the accuser, Satan. It is our unbelief (our false belief) that stops us from receiving further truth and light. Removing that unbelief, turning to face God (repentance) will produce blessings from the windows of heaven, such that you will be filled with light, and will not have room enough to receive it.

Men may be well intentioned, but intention does not filter false traditions of unbelief. Only the words of Christ have sufficient light to identify the dark traditions of the context of the world. Thus, I suggest, “Follow no Man!” Instead, do as the children of Israel were advised to do, “Look to Christ and live.” Feast upon the words of Christ. The words of Christ will tell you all things what you should do. Than you may properly discern between truth and error, to choose the sweet over the bitter. Your taste buds will be cleansed and refreshed, so you can reject the bitter.

Feating upon the words of Christ is a feast that produces power and not obesity! So eat up! Consume all you can! This diet will fill you with light! Stuff your faces! You will not feel guilty afterward, but will be left enlightened forever! Amen.

3 thoughts on “Follow No Man!

  1. I think I understand what you are relaying to us in this blog. However the harsh reality of it, we each gain our understanding and testimony according to what we read relative to what we understand. It is like an English dictionary. I have spoken English all my life yet there are words in the English dictionary that use the exact same words I speak, but have an entirely different meaning. As the years add up behind me I see those same words that had beautiful meanings before and was used in a positive way, now describe something opposite to the meaning I understood and therefore I must be careful in using those words for fear of being misunderstood.

    Many of our songs back-in-the-day included the word “gay”. Children’s lyrics said, Happy and gay. etc. Today, it denotes a very different picture of being “gay”. What does this have to do with this blog? I feel that you are lumping us all into one “traditional belief” by what you say we do or think or follow. We all have different backgrounds and different gifts. What ever your gift, share it with love and peace and testimony. Do not judge all of us according to the gifts you have been given. Many of your blogs almost threaten us and our way of worshipping, yet you have lumped us into one way which you are judging is not the Lord’s way. You tell us how we should ascend, yet you have not yet ascended. You tell us how we need to follow no man, yet that following that we SHOULD do should come from within ourselves and from our knowledge of the scriptures as we follow God. Does going to church mean I am following God? For me this helps me know how to follow God. I associate with those wanting to follow God. Does keeping myself clean from the blood and sins of the world help me to follow God? I think so. Is following a dedicated leader of the church appointed by God through revelation and inspiration wrong? I don’t think so. I believe I add to his progress and that leader adds to mine.

    So this is what I love about your blogs. It DOES encourage me to read my scriptures more carefully to find out if what you are saying is really how things are. I love the scriptures. Whether I am reading them the way you say or the “traditional” way or any other way. I AM READING the scriptures. For this I am thankful to your encouragement. From the scriptures I receive light and truth. Thank you for that.

    I love you. Mom

    • That is correct! You’ve hit the nail on the head. Working with those who have been called into a leadership role, as an equal, with the desire to learn more ought to be what we all do. That person is not the savior, so we must all judge what we choose to follow, by learning the content of the words of Christ. The false traditions of unbelief are all of our problems, that is the very reason why we have not yet ascended (according to Moroni 7:37). You are absolutely correct when you stated that I haven’t ascended, because I haven’t been able to shed the scales of darkness, placed upon my eyes by the foolish and false traditions of our fathers. But the words are not words of condemnation. They are words of hope. Rather than just stating scriptures that condemn the sin, what I have made a conscious effort to do is stretch our perceptions be writing about scriptures to instruct us what we ought to do.

      I love going to church. I get to hear the words of Christ, associate with believers, learn from those who’ve studied better than I, and glean from the spirit that attends those who gather in the name of Christ, to be edified. The only voice of warning that I am speaking is, I think that there are things taught in church settings that can certainly lead us away, divert our focus, keep us running in circles, and never lead us to making an ascension in our lifetime. It was true in ancient scripture, and is still true in our day. But, it is not the responsibility of the individual to correct the institution. However, it is the responsibility of the individual, to parse the scriptures, and see clearly to identify truth from error, and choose the truth. This blog is not addressed to the public, but those personally tied to me. I do not address the institution, to correct the manuals, to fix the hymn book, to claim an office, to preach to the mormon populace, or to call men to repentance. I have not been given that responsibility. I am allowed to speak to my wife, children, and my immediate family. But I do so only through my parents. I don’t address my nieces and nephews, that is the responsibility of their parents.

      Church was always meant for people to gather, in the name of Christ, to be edified of the spirit. As we are learning, we need the church. But when we have obtained light, the church needs us. The danger upon us is, when someone comes offering light in the words of Christ, and we reject that light in exchange for offices, holiday traditions, athletic or occupational aspirations, academic achievement, social status, and other reasons that God categorizes under the label of false traditions of unbelief. As the rejection of light continues, church then looses its ability to dispel the darkness, and that is how apostasy seals the fate of an entire population. The Nephites and Jaredites faced it. The Jews at the time of Lehi suffered from it. The Jews during the time of Christ got caught up in it and crucified Christ. The ancient saints, after Christ’s resurrection fell in the same manner as well. We would be foolish to think that we are immune to the same mistakes of the multiple generations of the past, just because we are the dispensation of the fulness of times.

      Always, before the destruction of the vineyard, there’s a gathering out of the fruits. The few who are chosen will be gathered out. But they are only gathered based on their sweetness. The sweetness is always dependent upon if we get our moisture from the roots (the words of Christ). Those in whom I have addressed in this blog is the few I believe who have “sweet potential.” For that reason, I point to the roots. They must identify themselves as sweet by how they receive moisture from the roots.

      I try my best not to be offensive when identifying the roots. I take care and effort to present the roots in an appealing manner. But as the false traditions of unbelief stand in the light, and we are getting the bitterness removed from us, the process can seem difficult to receive. Many have not endured the process of removing the bitterness. My heart is without guile. I see myself as being in the same boat as those in whom I address. I just don’t like being in that boat and want to get off and into a boat that ascends. All I’m doing is talking about what I think an ascension boat looks like, so we can all jump ship and ascend, rather than going down with the Titanic.

      I don’t have a problem with President Monson, or Kaliki Unga, or many others who I respect and love, who hold, or have held offices. I do have a problem with the way my former bishop has mistreated confidentiality. I have a problem with bishops who exercise unrighteous dominion in using institutional shunning to forward a false traditions of probation as a method of healing sin, or who use their position to obtain advantage. But, you have to ask yourself about my intent, “Is he against the church and church leaders? Or is he only addressing unbelief?”

      You are 100% correct that words matter, and unbelief is the word that I combat. Our vocabulary has been tainted and corrupted by false traditions. I pick and choose my words the best I know how. That is why, for you, I choose, “Queen!”

      Love,
      Son

Leave a Reply

