To Be a Father, One Must First Become a Son! (Medium Length)

To be a father, one must first become a son. Sons and seed must come before becoming “the church and the kingdom, and the elect of God.” Once you have become a son, then can you become a Father.

Become a Son (both male and female alike): To be a father, one must first become a son. Christ stated this himself:

John 5:17-19

“17. ¶But Jesus answered them, My Father worketh hitherto, and I work.

18. Therefore the Jews sought the more to kill him, because he not only had broken the sabbath, but said also that God was his Father, making himself equal with God.

19. Then answered Jesus and said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, The Son can do nothing of himself, but what he seeth the Father do: for what things soever he doeth, these also doeth the Son likewise.

I must admit that as a boy I was not a good son. I used to be known, by my siblings, by the nickname “run-away” (one of the many nicknames I was given). But as an adult, I find myself doing as my father has done. My dad is a carpenter, and I find joy “carpentering” (not sure that’s a real word) myself, and with my brothers and sisters. Now my siblings don’t tease me “run-away” anymore. Instead, they tease me, “Home Depot” (you can’t win with these guys;). I can now confidently consider myself my parent’s son, because I seek to do what their hearts have taught me to do. I thank God for goodly parents, but even “goodly parents” were insufficient for Nephi. He too had to go to the source, the Father, himself.

Since parents aren’t perfect, there comes a time that all are required to seek to know the Father in Heaven, personally, in the flesh, …and to put-off the false traditions of our fathers (parents). Those who seek “that Father,” become sons, like unto Christ, and equal heirs with Christ, …to belong to: the Order of the Only Begotten Son (the real name of the priesthood).

Son’s, Seed and Fathers: The order we must follow is to learn to become son’s and seed first. We are instructed that we must seek “…first to obtain His word,” before seeking “…to declare His word.” The scriptures describe the process.

D&C 84:33-34

“33. For whoso is faithful unto the obtaining these two priesthoods of which I have spoken, and the magnifying their calling, are sanctified by the Spirit unto the renewing of their bodies.

34. They become the sons of Moses and of Aaron and the seed of Abraham, and the church and kingdom, and the elect of God.

Receiving the priesthood, and using it properly to judge (Aaronic) or to bless (Melchizedek), is how we “magnify” our calling, are sanctified, and are renewed. That is how we become sons and seed to “The Fathers.” These Fathers have the knowledge and the power to turn sons and seed into Fathers (to make them the elect of God). That is why Malachi instructs us to turn our hearts to Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. That is why Joseph Smith recorded instructions for us to be sons of Moses and of Aaron. That is why Joseph Smith sealed people, as children, to himself, as a father. That is why we must turn our hearts to the promises made to the Fathers, lest the whole earth be smitten with a curse, and burned at His coming.

A Father of Many Nations: Christ is ultimately the King of Kings, …because Christ is one who can make of us Kings and Queens. He can take things from chaos and disorder, to make them one. Abraham discovered this truth, and began his journey toward becoming a prince of peace, a father of many nations, a rightful heir, a High-Priest, and a god. He obtained “the right belonging to the fathers,” …whatever that means.

He says:

Abraham 1:2

“2. And, finding there was greater happiness and peace and rest for me, I sought for the blessings of the fathers, and the right whereunto I should be ordained to administer the same; having been myself a follower of righteousness, desiring also to be one who possessed great knowledge, and to be a greater follower of righteousness, and to possess a greater knowledge, and to be a father of many nations, a prince of peace, and desiring to receive instructions, and to keep the commandments of God, I became a rightful heir, a High Priest, holding the right belonging to the fathers.

Conclusion: Joseph Smith was never intended to complete the building of Zion in his earthly ministry. He was here to restore the truth of the Fathers, …so that we could have the model of how we can obtain “the right belonging to the fathers.” Joseph was given the task of turning the hearts of “the children” to “the promises” made to the fathers. And that means that those whose hearts are turned to those promises made to the fathers (scripture), …they are the children.

Let us be sons, seed, and children to our Father, by feasting upon the words of Christ, by talking of Christ, preaching of Christ, rejoicing of Christ, and prophesying of Christ. Let us be servants of our savior. Amen.

One thought on “To Be a Father, One Must First Become a Son! (Medium Length)

Leave a Reply

