His Sheep (1189 Words- Short for Reading in Church on your Devices;)

Christ taught that He laid His life down, not for all, but for those who are His sheep. He then told those in Jerusalem that “other sheep I have which are not of this fold…” (John 10:14-16). Then Christ appeared to the Nephites on the American continent and told them, “…Ye are them of whom I said: Other sheep I have which are not of this fold…” (3 Nephi 15:21). Christ also told the Nephites that, “…I have other sheep, which are not of this land, neither of the land of Jerusalem…” (3 Nephi 16:1). The question I propose to you is, what qualifies a person to be His Sheep?

To be short, there are two qualifiers for those who are His Sheep, and they are in a specific order. He said that His Sheep will: 1.) hear His voice, and 2.) see Him. You first must be able to hear His voice, and that will lead to seeing Him. Christ also clarifies who are “NOT” His Sheep, using the same concept. He says that they will “NOT” hear His voice, and that they will “NOT” see Him. That is how you know wether or not you are His Sheep. 

Our current church tradition fights against this doctrine, claiming that the responsibility for seeing Christ is a privilege that belongs to the leader of the church and those of high official rank. For the rest of us, we find our salvation by obeying them. But the scriptures teach differently, contradicting the acceptable teachings of the church from it’s leaders, from it’s pulpits, in it’s primary songs and hymns, and in it’s manuals. I am everlastingly grateful for the church, and am not an enemy by any means. But when the doctrine says one thing, and the church says another, we are all required to choose, like big-boys, and then be accountable for our choices. It is a perfect test for us to identify wether or not we are His Sheep.

Those Who Are: Scriptures that identify those who are His Sheep:

3 Nephi 15:24

“24. But behold, ye have both heard my voice, and seen me; and ye are my sheep, and ye are numbered among those whom the Father hath given me.” 

 

3 Nephi 16:1-3

1. And verily, verily, I say unto you that I have other sheep, which are not of this land, neither of the land of Jerusalem, neither in any parts of that land round about whither I have been to minister.

2. For they of whom I speak are they who have not as yet heard my voice; neither have I at any time manifested myself unto them.

3. But I have received a commandment of the Father that I shall go unto them, and that they shall hear my voice, and shall be numbered among my sheep, that there may be one fold and one shepherd; therefore I go to show myself unto them.

The scriptures testify of this everywhere. I use these passages because it is Christ qualifying who “ARE” and who are “NOT” His Sheep. The scriptures use other language to subtly say the same thing. As we get familiar with the scriptures, our language will be preserved like it was for the brother of Jared and his family. To do so we must recognize these patterns that are instructing us to both hear and see Christ. Key phrases indicating the necessity to see Christ will prove helpful, so you can personally gain your own witness that this is required of Christ, and not just my words. We are familiar with the necessity for hearing His voice, but key phrases teaching the necessity to see Him include: “in the flesh,” “see my face,” “manifest myself,” etc. When you take a serious study of the scriptures, knowing this will open your mind to seeing the instructions there, and you will be awakened to your awful situation and the work that must be done “NOT” in haste. Don’t rush your scripture study. Five minutes a day cannot produce a damned thing, but unbelief!

Not His Sheep: I don’t care for the negative, but the more you have an increase in light, the more darkness is identified and must be dispelled. So we need to speak in terms of the “NOT.” These are they who do not hear His voice, and are not manifested to by Him in the flesh.

3 Nephi 15:22-23

“22. And they understood me not, for they supposed it had been the Gentiles; for they understood not that the Gentiles should be converted through their preaching.

23. And they understood me not that I said they shall hear my voice; and they understood me not that the Gentiles should not at any time hear my voice—that I should not manifest myself unto them save it were by the Holy Ghost.”

Conclusion: It is required of any who are His Sheep to self-identify by hearing Christ’s voice and seeing Him. Failure to do that will prove you “NOT” His Sheep. Do this: Familiarize yourselves with His voice by earnestly studying the scriptures. The keys of the priesthood is not what you think it is. It is the missing knowledge that unlocks the mysteries found right in your scriptures, to enlighten your understanding, so that you will awake and arise, by hearing His voice, and knowing that He is, because you have seen Him. Those keys unlock in you the words of Christ, so you can obtain your own personal witness. That is the Doctrine of Christ, to bring you into the presence of Christ.

There will not be any more doctrine of Christ until you have seen Christ in the flesh (2 Nephi 32:6). Those who are His Sheep seek to return to His presence. The ancient fathers wanted to give us more, but they were instructed NOT to, to try our faith.

3 Nephi 26:9-12

“9. And when they shall have received this [the scriptures], which is expedient that they should have first, to try their faith, and if it shall so be that they shall believe these things [the scriptures] then shall the greater things be made manifest unto them.

10. And if it so be that they will “NOT” believe these things, then shall the greater things be withheld from them, unto their condemnation.

11. Behold, I was about to write them, all which were engraven upon the plates of Nephi, but the Lord forbade it, saying: I will try the faith of my people. [HIS SHEEP]

12. Therefore I, Mormon, do write the things which have been commanded me of the Lord. And now I, Mormon, make an end of my sayings, and proceed to write the things which have been commanded me.

Mormon is one of the fathers that Joseph Smith counsels us to turn our hearts to. Mormon has proven himself as Christ’s Sheep, heard His voice, and entered His presence. Everyone who is a father of that type, those who reside in heavens, and not stuck here among the dead, counsels us to come into the presence of Christ, and be His Sheep. I seek to follow that counsel. I offer you all a “TOKEN” in this message, and desire you to receive it. Awake, Arise, and Receive it!

IMUA!

 

2 thoughts on “His Sheep (1189 Words- Short for Reading in Church on your Devices;)

  1. Christ died for ALL mankind! Yep, ALL Mankind. He loves us and wants us ALL to return to Him. He is not selective as to who will or will not be resurrected. We ALL will be resurrected and ALL are allowed repentance and then forgiveness should the Lord decide it. For “I the Lord will forgive whom I will forgive, but as for you, it is required that you forgive ALL men their trespasses.” The Lord makes those decisions on who can and who cannot – who should or should not, etc. Ours is to learn the will of the Lord and then be courageous enough to do the will of the Lord. This is afforded to ALL men, not just some. For God is no respecter of persons. We cannot keep X ing out those whom we believe are NOT of His fold. We need to be sure that we ARE of His fold.
    Love you,
    Mom

    • Your idea of God sounds like everyone gets a free-pass. You confuse me claiming to be the keeper of the gate. If I believe in the scriptures, I know that the keeper of the gate is the holy one of Israel, and He employeth no servant there (2 Nephi 9:41-45). No, all I’m saying is that Christ himself defined who are and who are not His sheep. I just quoted the scriptures. If you believe in the scriptures, than you could read them for yourself (I quoted them to you), and you would see that Christ is the one speaking. He doesn’t contradict Himself. So, yes, we are required to forgive, but He will choose who He will forgive, and that is His option to do so, or NOT. Yes, your right, He does love all of us. But His love isn’t the one in question. And Yes, all will be resurrected, but resurrection isn’t what you think it is. Resurrection is a judgement day. That is why Christ is dressed in a red robe on that day, because He comes in judgement. All will be judged is all that means when it is said that all are resurrected. What you are resurrected to, on the other hand, is your eternal reward. And Alma makes it clear that those who are wicked are wicked still, in that day.

      What you promote sounds like everyone gets the highest degree of glory. That doesn’t sound like the plan that protects agency.

Leave a Reply

