Love Your Neighbor As Yourself (553 Words Short)

The second great commandment, “Love Your Neighbor As Yourself,” goes misunderstood. I used to think that this meant that I treat others the way I want to be treated. But the idea became confusing when I bought my wife a surfboard. I thought she would surely be grateful, and she was, but it didn’t have the same impact as it would have had on me. I ended up “borrowing” her board and breaking it at Pipeline (8ft Hawaiian).

I tried rethinking “Love Your Neighbor As Yourself,” and came up with a different approach. I considered it to mean that I treat others the way they wanted to be treated. But that didn’t work either, as I noticed that some people wanted to be trusted, when they were not trust worthy. So I pushed aside, for a time, the need to understand what Christ meant.

Last night, my wife interrupted me, and blurted out, “Oh, I get it! to Love Your Neighbor As Yourself means, you must come to know your neighbor so well, that what happens to them, you feel it as if it happened to them, and you were them.” I immediately knew that what she said was true. It was pure knowledge to me. You must truly put yourself in their shoes, knowing only what they know, understanding only what they understand, and see all things through their eyes, to know how you can love them. That is making you, into your neighbor, and loving them like you’d love yourself.

Conclusion: Sometimes we do things to others, that we regret later, that we’d never do to ourselves. Doing it to others has a “delayed” effect. Doing things to yourself has an “immediate” effect. When we “Love Your Neighbor As Yourself” the delayed effect is removed, because, to you, there is no difference between you and your neighbor. In this condition, you are equipped to bear one another’s burdens that they may be light, comfort those who stand in need of comfort, and mourn with those who mourn. These are they who are baptized amongst each other. They will enter in by the way, keep the baptismal covenant, and endure to the end of their faith.

D&C 76:51-56

“51 They are they who received the testimony of Jesus, and believed on his name and were baptized after the mannerof his burial, being buried in the water in his name, and this according to the commandment which he has given—

52. That by keeping the commandments they might be washed and cleansed from all their sins, and receive the Holy Spirit by the laying on of the hands of him who is ordained and sealed unto this power;

53. And who overcome by faith, and are sealed by the Holy Spirit of promise, which the Father sheds forth upon all those who are just and true.

54. They are they who are the church of the Firstborn.

55. They are they into whose hands the Father has given all things—

56. They are they who are priests and kings, who have received of his fulness, and of his glory;

Love God, and Love Your Neighbor As Yourself. This is His commandment that ye love one another as He has loved you! Upon all these hang all the laws and the prophets. Your salvation depends on it. It requires great faith.

Leave a Reply

