Part 1: Rob’s Starting His Own Church? (647 Words)

I keep hearing the rumor that Rob’s Starting His Own Church. That would be news to me, …because I’m Rob. So just in case there’s a question, I’d like to express a few thoughts about governing yourselves, that might clear up your concerns about me starting my own church.

The Church of God, from the beginning, were those who would live by the covenant found in the words of Christ. By living by the covenant of the Book of Mormon, and the other commandments, there could be established, once again, a covenant people whose language was preserved. That covenant people would be given a land of inheritance. Upon that land of inheritance can be built a temple, so that what is done in heaven is also done on earth. At the beginning of each dispensation was a covenant, to preserve the language of the people. And when the people responded, the covenant keeping people were given a land of inheritance, as God promised to His people.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day saints was originally established upon the foundation of “the Book of Mormon, and the other commandments.” However, less than two years after the church was established, those gentiles had already suffered condemnation. The church was established on 6 April 1830, and in a year and a half, this revelation was given:

D&C 84:54-57

“54. And your minds in times past have been darkened because of unbelief, and because you have treated lightly the things you have received—

55. Which vanity and unbelief have brought the whole church under condemnation.

56. And this condemnation resteth upon the children of Zion, even all.

57. And they shall remain under this condemnation until they repent and remember the new covenant, even the Book of Mormon and the former commandments which I have given them, not only to say, but to do according to that which I have written—”

The whole Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints suffered the condemnation of the Lord in 1832, and that condemnation was reiterated in a 1986 General Conference by Ezra T. Benson. My recent experience of being cast-out is proof that the church has not reversed the condemnation through repentance, and the condemnation of 1832 is still in full force right now. Since Joseph and Hyrum Smith were killed, the scriptures have been added to, large chunks omitted, pertinent information removed, and many scriptures were manipulated by the hands of men, making that record unable to bind the hearts and minds of men, for them to be one in Zion. It is the failure of the saints to maintain a pure record, and keep the covenant (that was originally offered) that stops the establishment of Zion in these latter-days.

The words of Christ is not my words, they belong to Christ. Therefore, if there is a group of people who are united by the power of those words, they necessarily belong to Christ’s church. I follow the words of Christ with great effort, and meticulous detail, to qualify to be united with that people. But, because I take the scriptures seriously, you have accused me that my actions have caused me to be cast-out. And you think that it is clear evidence that I’m starting my own church. The city of Enoch was founded upon scripture. Melchizedek’s city was also founded on scripture. Am I starting my own church? Are you CRAZY?

Conclusion: While I’m not starting my own church, I will meet together oft to talk of Christ, preach of Christ, prophesy of Christ, and partake of the sacrament, and be numbered among those who have kept the covenant of the Book of Mormon and the other commandments that God has given. In your ignorance, you have misjudged me, thinking that I’m starting my own church. I forgive you, and invite you to repent by searching diligently the words of Christ, not only to say, but to do accordingly.

Leave a Reply

