Be Humble And Don’t Grumble (940 Words)

What is God doing when those who come into His presence cower, shrink, and fall down? Is it God’s presence condemning you, or is it your impurity condemning you? Christ’s redeeming love offers to make you pure, if you would Be Humble And Don’t Grumble.

God is just being God. He is pure light. He is without impurities. However, He isn’t doing anything but “being.” Standing in the presence of such light tends to be an awful reminder of your individual darkness, so a veil is drawn to provide a probation, a time for men to prepare to meet God. To God, not only do you have value, you are as valuable as He is. He sent a savior to sanctify and make you holy, so you can endure His presence. Those who enter into His presence cower, shrink, and fall down, because God values them more than they value themselves, and they cannot imagine being worthy of His love. Often times impure men wish the mountains fall upon them, to cover them from the reality of God’s presence.

Who is condemning you? Is it me, because I have spoken the words of truth, or is it you because the idea of returning into Christ’s presence requires that you face your own impurities? I have not condemned you for your imperfections. I have simply stated that your ignorance will not produce anything but a desire for the mountains to fall upon you in the day of judgement, because of our choice to put aside salvation for aspiring in the Earth. You think I hold myself above you, and that somehow, being a stay-at-home Dad means that I’m retired young, retired rich, sitting in my pool house, sipping artsy drinks, with umbrellas. Is that how it was as a stay-at-home Mom? There is enough knowledge being offered you in the scriptures to remove your ignorance of Christ, and to bring you back into His presence in the flesh. I have simply chosen to spend my time there. People choose to invest in sports, spending hours training, outside of the hours in practice, and the hours of playing games. Others have chosen to spend hours in study in medical school, architecture, engineering, coaching, doing construction, etc. If they were to advise you of your ignorance in their fields of emphasis, would you reject the truths they offer, simply because you don’t want to face the truth? Just because a doctor is a doctor, it doesn’t make them healthy, does it? They simply understand why it is important to be healthy. Likewise for me, I have chosen to invest my time in the gospel. Just as a doctor, architect, engineer, or contractor, that knowledge comes at a great sacrifice. I have simply chosen to sacrifice in this area. It doesn’t mean that I have no responsibilities and I have somehow picked up the gospel of Christ as a hobby, to occupy my free time as a stay-at-home Dad. And It doesn’t mean that I am perfect at it. It only means that it’s very important to me. I gotta pay bills too. I got chores to do. I have responsibilities to attend to, different than my wife, who gets paid for what she does. I value being corrected by God, even if it is through my mother. Do you value God enough to hear the truth, even if it is through your son?

Mormon 9:31

31. Condemn me not because of mine imperfection, neither my father, because of his imperfection, neither them who have written before him; but rather give thanks unto God that he hath made manifest unto you our imperfections, that ye may learn to be more wise than we have been.”

Would I ever condemn or damn you? Nope, only you have the power to do that. All I will ever do is to beckon that you come and partake of the fruit of the tree of life, which is the love of God, which source is Christ. If you choose to come and partake, it will be because you were Humble and Did Not Grumble.

Christ was sent as the redeemer of the world because within Him is the power to make holy, to sanctify, to make you into a new creature, so that you can endure the presence of the Father. You must come to Christ in order for that work to be done. That is literal, not figuratively come unto Christ, by coming to your bishop, stake president, or general authority. No man has the power to make you holy, to sanctify you, or to make you into a new creature. It is the role of Christ alone. All a prophet can do is point to Christ. Prophets point to the words of Christ. They speak the words of Christ. They hunger for the words of everlasting joy, and they want it from the source of all truth, from Christ! He atoned for you and I. He was resurrected. He was triumphant over the grave. Don’t look at me, or anyone else for that matter. Look to Christ and live. Christ will redeem you, while you are tabernacled in the flesh, if you would just Be Humble And Don’t Grumble.

Conclusion: Consider what I’m saying, rather than defending your current position. Where you currently stand is unredeemed, in the dark, outside of the presence of Christ. Why would that give you comfort? I recommend a path that offers you a confidence that will wax strong in the presence of God. It will require you to let go of what you think you know and Be Humble And Don’t Grumble.

 

Leave a Reply

